MOPs Ideas from MomCon 2015 – Part 2

Another workshop I attended at MomCon 2015 was by Jodi Detrick, who wrote The Jesus-Hearted Woman, 10 Leadership Qualities for Enduring & Endearing Influence.  The notes I wrote don’t compare to all the information in her book, so I highly recommend getting it, because the ten chapters are filled with great wisdom and encouragement.  Each chapter has great thought provoking questions called “Jodi’s Coaching Questions” and a short Bible study called, “A Little Lesson for New Leaders.” Chapter one is “These Shoes Are Too Big!” and the Leadership Quality is on confidence.  Chapter 2 Plastic Lipstick/Authenticity; 3 Floor Exercise, Humility; 4 Take the Stairs, Stamina; 5 The Cringe Factor, Resilience; 6 Pocketbook Punches, Courage; 7 Terra Cotta Warriors, Self-Awareness; 8 First-Clappers, Kindness; 9 The Green Room, Soul-Care; 10 Dancing on Prayers, Vision.

jesus-hearted woman cover

Jodi said she has realized she has ink in her blood, and I believe it.  Great things she said are things like, My life is taking off in proportion of my ability to say YES to the Lord.  Leadership is not really quantifiable but is most deeply influential.  Don’t measure against other leadership, yours or others.  Don’t let your dreams eclipse your present.  Want right now.  Jodi loves words!  Jesus is the Word.  Words link to the heart.

Proverb 18:21 The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.

Three truths to know:

Some words you should ignore, dis-empower, walk away from (like words of comparison/shaming).  Nehemiah was mocked in public.  Wounding words, he took to prayer.  Set up guards.  Gen 37 Joseph mocked.  Don’t let troubled souls make you a troubled soul.  Choose peace over closure with a sticky past.  Jodi wrote what she calls “word bridges” for the Seattle Times religion column. Her article “Little Things” got super negative feedback.  She points out it got positive feedback too!  Don’t give small people big power over your life!  Have courage, we’ll even have some negative encouragement from fellow believers, like Peter in Matthew 16:21 From that time on Jesus began to explain to his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer many things at the hands of the elders, the chief priests and the teachers of the law, and that he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life.22 Peter took him aside and began to rebuke him. “Never, Lord!” he said. “This shall never happen to you!”23 Jesus turned and said to Peter, “Get behind me, Satan! You are a stumbling block to me; you do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.”  You should also ignore self-doubt.  She coined postpartum ministry blues as PPMB and said there is more about that in her book.  To overcome negative thoughts, remember Psalm 42:5 Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God. She said hope is always our next best step.  boss your feelings around in God! (Lisa Terkeurst). Displace lies of the enemy with God’s truth.  She told the story of Nataliya Dmytruk and how 250 colleagues saw her courage.  Psalm 119:60 I will hasten and not delay to obey your commands. Ask Jesus to mentor our minds.  

free-snowflake-clipart-MKcnj5BTq

Your leadership is most powerful in you.  Your words in your own leadership voice.  Have you heard of Snowflake Theology how everyone’s spiritual gifts are unique and important and we should respect one another and work together.  Don’t be a copycat, like Simon the Sorcerer in Acts 8:9-24.  Remember in Acts 19 a Jewish copycat healer, ran out  of the house wounded when he was beaten by the demon possessed man.  Be yourself not a copycat!  To have spiritual vigor, find your voice in service.

Your words can go farther than you realize, your leadership is influence. Like it says in Isaiah 50:4, change others with words of encouragement!  She read this:Mary Ann Bird was born with multiple birth defects. She suffered not only from her physical impairments but also with the emotional trauma of “being different” from others.

The Whisper Test

I grew up knowing I was different, and I hated it. I was born with a cleft palate, and when I started school, my classmates made it clear to me how I looked to others: a little girl with a misshapen lip, crooked nose, lopsided teeth, and garbled speech.

When schoolmates asked, “What happened to your lip?” I’d tell them I’d fallen and cut it on a piece of glass. Somehow it seemed more acceptable to have suffered an accident than to have been born different. I was convinced that no one outside my family could love me.

There was, however, a teacher in the second grade whom we all adored — Mrs. Leonard by name. She was short, round, happy —
a sparkling lady.

Annually we had a hearing test. Mrs. Leonard gave the test to everyone in the class, and finally it was my turn. I knew from past years that as we stood against the door and covered one ear, the teacher sitting at her desk would whisper something, and we would have to repeat it back — things like “The sky is blue” or “Do you have new shoes?” I waited there for those words that God must have put into her mouth, those seven words that changed my life. Mrs. Leonard said, in her whisper, “I wish you were MY little girl.”

So…What is your next “Yes!” to God? Give someone vitamin E (encouragement) every day.

Click here to read my previous post.

About shawneepooh

Oily experimenter, Avid Pinner, Social Media student, Bible reader, Fun friend, Great wife, Wonderful mama!

Leave a Reply

