My Food Journey – Part 6

Well, I didn’t see this coming, but I’ve quit the Ideal Protein protocol, because it became too stringent.  After abiding strictly to it thru Thanksgiving and Christmas, I have begun to cheat on my birthday in February for chocolate cake and a special brunch with friends, then a month later for a piece of for wedding cake.  I’ve been going in and out of ketosis for a couple of months now.

What does this mean for me?  Idealy, it means I’ve slowed down my weight loss from 2-5 pounds a week to 1-2 pounds a week. I’ve started eating more carbs and fat and continue to have snacks but not let myself turn it into a meal.  I’ve gained back 7 pounds but it would be considered water weight if I were to lose it (in two weeks) on Ideal Protein. I don’t see it at really quitting as much as taking a new route to weight loss.

While I was having physical success with weight loss on Ideal Protein, I wasn’t dealing with my food addiction mentality.  I was avoiding the carb cravings while in ketosis.  I lost 35# and went down a size and feel better, but I’ve still got a ways to go to a healthy BMI.

I’m happy to announce that while I’m dieting by lowering my carb intake I’m also working on the addiction portion of my food issues by doing the Genesis Process.  “It blends sound biblical principles, the latest understanding of the brain, and the author’s 30 years of experience in the addiction field into an effective road map to changing lives.”

Just like my child development classes, I know an adult changes as child develops …whole not in parts.  We are physical, spiritual, emotional, social and cognitive beings.  When we change in one area, it effects all the other areas.

Since openly admitting I am a food addict, I can take control of my food choices.  It’s easier for me to say “No” to bad food choices and yes to healthier ones.  Before eating so strictly, I was weak and didn’t think I could say “No” to myself.  It felt like punishment, but I was treating myself daily to fried food, fast food, chips, chocolate, or ice cream. After eating those things regularly, my body craved them.

it felt like punishment to say

So, I am feeling more empowered by doing 3 months of a strict diet.  I know I have the power to say “No” to bad food choices and it doesn’t feel like punishment to me, but it feels empowering.  This is a huge step forward in my food journey.

I’m still participating in the “Biggest Loser” contest at work, but I’m not the biggest loser anymore.  I’m glad I paused when I was about to restart Ideal protein for the 4th time and took stock of trying to use the principles and dieting on my own for a while.  I still have a lot of the high protein products, like drinks, soups, and snacks to assist me in my continued battle against the bulge.

Right now, maintaining the weight loss I have is important to me and never going higher than I am right now feels doable.  I hope you will continue with me on my journey…and feel free to write comments of encouragement too!

 

About shawneepooh

Oily experimenter, Avid Pinner, Social Media student, Bible reader, Fun friend, Great wife, Wonderful mama!

Leave a Reply

