Woman Rant: Receipt Hell

If I hear, “Would you like your receipt with you or in the bag?” one more time, I think I’ll just walk away.  Each time I check out somewhere I’m expected to take a receipt.  I have to decide where to put it and the easiest solution is in my purse.

I’m so sick of receipts filling my purse, I could scream!  Pay with cash, get a receipt.  Pay with credit, get a receipt.  Buy a pack of gum at the drugstore, get a 24″ receipt.  I do not have a filing cabinet in my purse.  Where am I supposed to put all these strips of paper?

Personally, I have to clean out my purse once a week or I won’t be able to find that said pack of gum in my bag.  I throw my receipts away, even though the cashier’s prompt me to take the survey to win a $1,000.

I've got bigger fish to fry than micromanage little pieces of paper. I admit, I have total satisfaction throwing them away. I'm in momentary heaven when all the receipts are in the trash and my purse is filled with the

Plus there are the multiple coupons that print out at the register, none of which I ever use. All this extra paper creates havoc in my day and makes me have to think about how I might use that coupon, since it’s been printed especially for me.  Our purchases are tracked and when we swipe our credit card, the manufacturer’s and stores have teamed up to solicit us at the check out.  It works for a micro second, then I think of all the things I manage in my life and I don’t have time to organize that and buy that product before the erroneous expiration date printed on the coupon for that particular store chain.

I’ve got bigger fish to fry than micromanage little pieces of paper.  I admit, I have total satisfaction throwing them away.  I’m in momentary heaven when all the receipts are in the trash and my purse is filled with the things I want in there.

 

So listen up all you cashiers, I don’t want those stinkin’ receipts.  You can keep them and fill up your trash bins with them.  I don’t want to even look at them. I’ve got enough decisions to make and it’s important to me to be able to search my handbag for things I may need and not have to swim around the sea of irrelevant paper.

I do have to give it to the gas stations, they give me the option of printing my receipt and I am empowered when I push the “No” button and get back into my car to find a piece of gum!

 

Note:  Sometimes “the thing is not the thing,” and the rant is not really about the receipts.  We blow our top about something but it was just the trigger event.  What do you need to dump today?  What is taking up space in your life that you need to get rid of?

 

About shawneepooh

Oily experimenter, Avid Pinner, Social Media student, Bible reader, Fun friend, Great wife, Wonderful mama!

1 Response

Leave a Reply

