My Man is Being Converted to EOs

“Where’s the Lysol?” Greg asked from the pantry.  My husband always sprays the kitchen garbage cans when he takes the bags out.  (I love this about him.)  What he didn’t know was I was delaying the purchase of the chemically riddled germ spray, hoping he’d start using the non-toxic Young Living (YL) Thieves Spray.

So I answered his question with “Use the Young Living Thieves Spray instead” and he did.  One of my husbands super powers is smell.  He smells things better and even earlier than most women do.  This makes his nose sensitive and his verbal and nonverbal reactions strong. Let’s just say he wasn’t initially a YL Thieves essential oil blend fan with its cinnamon, clove, rosemary, eucalyptus and lemon.  He hates rosemary.  But since I keep using the Thieves Household Cleaner to clean our home instead of harsh, toxic chemical cleaners, he’s adapting.

Since I use more and more essential oils in our home, my man is all into YL Peppermint oil for tummy issues, but he won’t go near the YL Digize…yet (with Tarragon,  Ginger, Peppermint, Juniper , Fennel, Lemongrass, Anise, Patchouli.)  I can understand that, it’s got a strong smell; but if it works for your issue, you learn to accept it.  It’s definitely an acquired fragrance blend.  It’s the only oil in the 11 starter kit oils that I wouldn’t diffuse or use in a homemade bath product.

It’s easy to recognize what you don’t like, and he’s not a fan of wearing YL Lavender, even though it’s good for sniffles, bites, stress and sleep assistance.  I’m really glad he doesn’t  balk when I diffuse it next to my side of the bed (sometimes with YL Cedarwood, YL Vetiver or YL Frankincense.)

He recently enjoyed the  YL Black Pepper Vitality EO added at the last minute in our sausage gravy for dinner. Win!

My philosophy of converting a family member is “what they don’t know won’t kill their senses.”  Oh, Mr. hound nose figures out most of my tricks!  But, I sprayed YL Purification all over the inside our daughter’s used car to freshen it up.  He didn’t like the idea but it worked!  It’s much more pleasant riding in her vehicle now.

When he saw I put some YL Purification on a paper towel piece and vacuumed it up, he told me that was going to make the storage closet we keep the vacuum in stink because the oil will go rancid.  He, also, said that about the cotton balls I left in my car with my favorite blend.  Note:  Pure essential oils do not go rancid as carrier oils such as sunflower, olive, avocado oils can over time. Certain essential oils, however, can oxidize, deteriorate and gradually lose their therapeutic value and aromatic quality. He’ll eventually believe me about this, but for now I’ll let him believe what he wants.  I will continue to deodorize the vacuum with YL Citrus Fresh.

Two more big conversions to Young Living products have occurred over time with my dear hubby.  He’s a big believer in the NingXia Red!  When he’s feeling like his immune system has been compromised or he’s trying to get over a bug, he’ll drink a morning and evening shot of this powerful, whole-body supplement.  He doesn’t go all crazy adding other oils in it for flavor like I do (see NinXia Shot recipes), but I’m thankful he knows how to boost his energy levels, normal cellular function, and whole-body and normal eye health.

When he does succumb to sickness, he happily rolls  YL Breathe Again on his chest (with pure essential oils like  Eucalyptus staigeriana oil, Eucalyptus globulus oil, Laurus nobilis oil, Rose hip seed oil, Peppermint oil, Eucalyptus radiata oil, Balsam copaiba resin, Blue cypress oil, Eucalyptus bicostata oil, and Myrtle oil.)  I’ll make him a personal inhaler with YL Eucalyptus Radiata to open up his sinuses have handy and  take to work.  By the way, did you realize the YL Breathe Again recipe lists 4 different Eucalyptus sources?  Wow!  That’s why it really helps you “Breathe Again!”

I think the next new oil introduction for Greg will be YL Thieves Waterless Hand Purifier in the car, once I remove all the alcohol-based hand sanitizer bottles! It helps keep you well and softens your hands.

I’m curious to know what your male family members favorite oils are and how they use them.  Drop me a note in a comment, so everyone can see.

About shawneepooh

Oily experimenter, Avid Pinner, Social Media student, Bible reader, Fun friend, Great wife, Wonderful mama!

Leave a Reply

